Reviews

7.8
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.2
Comfort
7.6
Property location
8.0
Facilities
7.5
Staff
8.3
Value
7.1

Reviews

    Sandra
    ca

    Review score

    6.7
    26 March 2018

    DISAPPOINTING :(

    The bar/restaurant on the hotel property (or just next to it...not sure) Jolly Rogers, had extremely LOUD, live music EVERY night. This was such a downer for us as we really wanted to relax and enjoy the sounds of the jungle. As soon as the sun went down we could hear the chorus of frogs and insects singing but soon after the obnoxious loud music would start and ruin the atmosphere. This alone tainted the stay for us. Such a shame. This hotel has great potential otherwise. I would also like to point out that the pool restaurant is NEW and looks nothing like the website pictures anymore. They do NOT serve the "wonderful pizza" that we read about on other reviews. The new pool restaurant now has more of a lounge/club feel too it. Not at all what I was expecting from the pictures.
    The property was set just off the main road but far back enough to be in the jungle. Capuchin, howler and squirrel monkeys came through the property every day and we even had one on our bungalow balcony. We watched the monkeys from the pool a couple times. (pool was nice and clean) Wildlife was great and next door to a wildlife sanctuary with night tours and butterfly atrium. (Greentique)
    Annette
    ca

    Review score

    2.5
    12 March 2018

    Overpriced and big disappointment. This property needs some serious maintenance.

    Bedding was torn and worn out, beds were very old and uncomfortable. Restaurant area was unkept and not clean, with a very limited menu. Heed the reviews with concerns, they are valid!
    Overpriced for what they have there. The only thing we enjoyed was the troupe of squirrel monkeys greeting us when we first arrived. We are not fussy tourists but this place really didn't meet our expectations.
    Colleen
    ca

    Review score

    8.8
    21 February 2018

    Huge thank you to the top notch staff !! Love this property !

    Desk staff - Oliver checked us in he is super helpful ! I forget the name of the gal who checked us out but she was amazing !! Love the tropical jungle feel of the property - lots of wildlife , beautiful trees and plants , monkeys everyday ! Breakfast was terrific !
    Marco
    cr

    Review score

    5.4
    5 February 2018

    Too expensive, bad food, awful wifi

    The wifi was unusable during all the stay, and this is a huge problem when you need to work during the stay... They don't have options for vegetarians during breakfast and so on...
    Michele
    it

    Review score

    5.0
    6 January 2018

    We will return to Manuel Antonio but not in this hotel.

    After the first night in the bungalows we advised the staff that in the second bungalow there was no warm water for the shower. They assured us that they would solve the problem. Unfortunately the fault was not repaired and even on the second night we had to shower in cold water. It's not a budget hotel and I was expecting a repair or at least a change of room. The management of the hotel has proven to be superficial in handling the situation. The money spent is not proportional to the quality of the service. Pool in the shade. Minimum breakfast, we had to go out for breakfast at a cafe nearby. Uncomfortable and narrow parking spaces.
    Charming structure surrounded by jungle. Great location for sighting parrots, monkeys and sloths. Great location colose to the beaches and cafes. Kind staff. Equipped with two parking lots for cars.
    Katherine
    us

    Review score

    5.0
    19 December 2017

    not comfortable as we expected..hotel newly changed owner, facility outdated, have many stone steps.

    the sports bar had loud music past midnight, and wouldn't turn down volume after several requests. sleeping was impossible. no staffing at night.. except the sports bar, which was not owned by hotel, they didnt care about the noise affecting hotel guests. no wi fi in the room the first night, it did get fixed the next day.
    location near cafe and good eats. jungle setting
    David and Janet
    ca

    Review score

    7.1
    25 August 2017

    A pleasant hotel situated close to Manuel Antonio National Park.

    Parking was a little tight.
    A convenient place to stay near Manuel Antonio nation park. Good facilities and restaurants nearby.
    Jonathan
    cr

    Review score

    5.8
    28 July 2017
    Property needs overall maintenance, looks old
    Good breakfast, people really friendly at bar/restaurant
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    6 July 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    linda
    bs

    Review score

    8.8
    1 July 2017

    Great Stay for Nature Lovers

    Steam cleaning the outdoor concrete steps should be done regularly or perhaps ? Covering them ,due to the humid conditions as they have mold and are slippery.
    We loved our stay. The location, service, staff and ambiance. This is an older. Hotel but the rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Nice , comfy beds. Also , the food was pretty good, esp. The pizza. We felt like we were in the the jungle, with all the wildlife directly outside our door.
    Zachary
    us

    Review score

    10
    5 April 2018
    Staff was awesome, vibe, location, and ambience were perfect.
    davvalen
    cr

    Review score

    7.9
    4 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Michele
    us

    Review score

    10
    1 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jane
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    11 March 2018

    Had a very comfortable stay, and big bonus that there is so much wildlife in the parking lot/grounds

    The restaurant food (pub food) was not very good.
    The location is good- the beach and Manuel Antonio National Park are only a short drive away, and restaurants, a bank, pharmacy and store are about a block away. The pool was nice, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. There are 3 types of monkeys that hang out around the hotel, and agoutis and iguanas.
    us

    Review score

    10
    19 February 2018

    Great location.

    All was good.
    Great location.
    Carla
    us

    Review score

    10
    25 January 2018

    Wonderful

    So many steps!!! Wonderful
    Waiters at the restaurant were very helpful and friendly
    Shauna
    ca

    Review score

    6.7
    2 January 2018

    Kids loved the monkeys. Room was ok but over priced. The room is old , dated and not quiet.

    Loud at night. Bar , music, road
    Location
    Shahreen
    us

    Review score

    6.7
    1 January 2018

    Good value for money. Not a luxury hotel but up to western sta

    Long walk to room.
    Breakfast was very slow.
    Julia
    us

    Review score

    3.8
    27 December 2017

    Fine because we only stayed for two nights and were barely there but would never stay here again

    Rock-hard beds and construction being done by the pool near breakfast; disgusting leaves covering the pool; minimal effort to keep the place nice
    Nice staff and convenient location near a supermarket
    David
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    29 July 2017

    Not a bad place to stay.

    Check in process was poor. We were not greeted when we arrived. Clerk just went through the motions. Clerk did a poor job of everything. He did not tell us about the property, discuss the room or any details. Had to ask him many questions. We were put on the third floor which required us ( my 84 year old Mom) to hike up three flights of stairs to our room. No elevators. Pool, check in and room on three different levels. Very hard for us to walk around the hotel.
    Rooms were clean and simple. Restaraunt was very good and their staff was great. Location was also nice and the pool area was nice.
Loading reviews